Three to receive Freedom of the City Canterbury City Council | Thursday 20 November

Three to receive Freedom of the City

13 November 2014

Three prominent dignitaries who have made a major contribution to Canterbury district are to receive the Freedom of the City of Canterbury.

Amanda Cottrell OBE, Sir Graeme Odgers DL and Paul Barrett will receive the honour at a special ceremony in the Guildhall on Thursday 15 January 2015.

Amanda Cottrell is the former High Sheriff of Kent, the current Chairman of Visit Kent and a Trustee of Canterbury Cathedral.  She is also an Honorary Fellow of Canterbury Christ Church University, holds an Honorary Doctorate in Civil Law from the University of Kent, is Patron of Produced in Kent and is a Kent Ambassador.

Sir Graeme Odgers was the founding Chairman of the Marlowe Theatre Development Trust, and is the past Chairman of Locate in Kent and past Chairman of the Kent Economic Board. He is also a Kent Ambassador.

Paul Barrett is the Managing Director of Barretts of Canterbury Limited, the Chairman of C4B, a Trustee of Canterbury Cathedral and a Corporation Member of Canterbury College. He is a Kent Ambassador too.

To be awarded the Freedom of the City, the recipient needs to be renowned on a county or wider level and ideally have a reputation that enhances the image of the Canterbury district on that wider level. Decisions on who will receive the award are taken by the city council on a cross-party, consensual basis.

Amanda Cottrell, Sir Graeme Odgers and Paul Barrett will join the list of current Freemen of the City that includes the Prince of Wales, Lord Carey of Clifton, Terry Waite, Peter Williams, Tim Brett, Robert Willis, Peter Firmin, Michael Head and Dr Rowan Williams.